There is a belief about Navratri that even the God worship Mata Bhagwati. In Navaratri Pujan, the nine different forms of Mata are worshipped. Mata Bhagwati is called Shakti. Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandmata, Katyayani, Kaalratri, Ma Gauri and Siddhidatri are different forms of Mata rani which are worshipped during nine auspicious days, respectively. Mata Durga is known by different names like Guyana, Kriya, Nitya, Balparda, Shubh, Nishubh harani, Mahishashur Mardani, Chand-Mund Vinashini, Parmeshwari and the one to bless Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh.

During Navratri, Jau (millet seeds) is kept in a big utensil containing sand to grow in front of the idol or image of Goddess to worship. On one side, a Kalash full of water is established and a raw coconut is kept over it. After establishing the Kalash, the Akhand Jyoti (monolithic light) in front of Mata Bhagwati is lightened. The Jyoti has to be lightened up all the time during the Navratri Pujan.

Lord Ganesha is worshipped first followed by Varun Dev, Vishnu, Shiv, Sun, and Moon together with nine other planets. (the phrase is not clear to me, please make it meaningful). After worshiping the Gods, Mata Bhagwati is worshipped.

Fast is observed by devotee during nine days of Navratri and Paath of Durga Saptasati and Devi is chanted. In addition, the following Mantra can be utter.

“Ya Devi Sarva Bhuteshu, Buddhi Rupen Sansthita,
Namastubhyam Namastubhyam Namastubhyam Namo Namah”.
(not sure but as of I know It should be like this, Ignore if correct)

“Yaa Devi Sarva-Bhutessu, Buddhi Rupen Sansthita |
Namas-Tasyai Namas-Tasyai Namas-Tasyai Namo Namah”

Planet pacification works are done during the nine days of Navaratri. On Pratipada, worship is done to pacify Mars, followed by Rahu on Dwitiya, Jupiter on Tritiya, Saturn on Chaturthi, Mercury on Panchami, Ketu on Shashthi, Venus on Saptami, Sun on Ashtami, and Moon on Navami.

Before starting the peace treaty work, Kalash is established and Mother is worshipped. After worshiping, an instrument consisting of nine blocks is made on a red cloth. In the first three blocks: Mercury, Venus, and Moon idols are placed; in the middle three blocks, Jupiter, Sun and Mars idols are placed while in the lower three blocks, Ketu, Saturn, and Rahu idols are placed.

This is further followed by chanting Navgrah Beej Mantra and Navgrah Shanti (Peace) resolution is then taken. The Mantra of the planet is chanted in accordance to the relevance of the day which is as follows.

Mars Beej Mantra – Om Kram Krim Kraum Sah Bhaumay Namah
Rahu Beej Mantra – Om Bhram Brim Bhraum Sah Rahuvey Namah
Jupiter Beej Mantra – Om Gram Grim Graum Sah Guruvey Namah
Saturn Beej Mantra – Om Pram Prim Praum Sah Shanaishcharay Namah
Mercury Beej Mantra – Om Bram Brim Braum Sah Budhay Namah
Ketu Beej Mantra – Om Stram Strim Stroum Sah Ketvey Namah
Venus Beej Mantra – Om Dram Drim Draum Sah Shukray Namah
Sun Beej Mantra – Om Hram Hrim Hroum Sah Suryay Namah
Moon Beej Mantra – Om Shram Shrim Shroum Sah Chandramase Namah
Durgasaptashati consists of seven hundred Mahamantras, due to which, it is also known as Saptashati. Worshiping Saptashati cures many incurable diseases and fulfills all the wishes of the devotees.

During Navratri, the three powers (what are these?) should not be worshipped in the same hose. The Goddess likes Kaner and fragrant flowers so only these flowers should be used for worship. Kalash should be established during the day and idol of the Mata should be decorated with red clothes. The worshiper should sit on a red cloth or warm Aasan and worship.

The person doing Navratra eats righteous food and that too once in a day. Alcohols and non-vegetarian foods are avoided. In addition, hair and nail cutting should also be avoided and chastity should be maintained. On the Ashtami and Navami of Navratri, nine small girls and a boy of age less than ten years are fed and Dakshina is given. Girls are idolized as Mata Rani while the boy is considered as the guise of a Bhairav.

Performing Havan on the previous night of the day of feeding the girls and a boy is considered auspicious. After feeding them the germinated Barley and the sands are immersed in the water. Some Barley is pulled out from the root and can be kept to bring prosperity in the house. The Kalash water should be sprayed in the whole house. This removes all the negative energies from the house. The coconut is eaten as a sacrament of Mata Durga.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s